Showboat 4*

This is a great show so I was determined to see it and almost ran out of time as they announced it is closing early at the end of August.  I was, however, very pleased to find tickets for £19.75.

 IMG_0057

I got to the New London Theatre early and whilst taking photos outside, two girls stopped a woman walking by and said “you’re in the show aren’t you, can we have a photo?” so I snapped one of her too!  Looking in the programme I noted it is Linda John-Pierre who is billed as Old Lady/Ensemble, and indeed looks a lot older when made up for the show.

IMG_0064

Yes you heard correctly, I bought a programme for once!  My mum is taking my niece to see the show next week so we thought if I got one we could all share it.  It was £6 but the articles about the show were interesting and there are some good photos in it and, of course, I now have all the information I need without having to scrabble around on the Internet for it.

IMG_0065

I don’t remember ever coming to this theatre and, looking at the list of their productions, I’m not surprised as I had no interest in War Horse or Cats (I don’t do animals!).  It’s a bit of a trek from the tube which has unfortunately probably contributed to it closing early, being off the beaten track for both Londoners and tourists.  The theatre has been modernised inside with air conditioning and ample leg room and the seating is in a u shape around the stage. I was in row E at the side of the stalls. There were a few empty seats in the stalls but the small circle was about 90% empty.  Even for a Wednesday night that’s not good.

IMG_0069

I really enjoyed the first half.  The set is very clever, with a walkway around the stage made to look like a wharf and the front of a steamboat that can move towards the audience.  You can just see it in this sneaky pic I took at the end of the interval.

 IMG_0071

The show has one of my favourite show songs in it – Can’t Help Lovin’ Dat Man.  Ol’ Man River is obviously the classic song from the show and the actor who sang it had an amazing voice and again, because I had the programme, I knew that it wasn’t even the main actor (Emmanuel Kojo) but the understudy Tosh Wanogho-Maud.  The actress playing Julie, Rebecca Trehearn, really reminded me of Sandra Bullock (look her up, you’ll see!) and Gina Beck as Magnolia is fantastic with a great singing voice.

IMG_0061

Based on a novel by Edna Ferber and adapted for the stage by Hammerstein and Kern, the subject matter is still fascinating and relevant and musical lovers should note that it’s cited as the first musical as we know them today – with a storyline and the songs providing narrative, rather than just shows that were more like cabarets.

 IMG_0060

I preferred the first half to the second.  I’m not sure if this is because I was tired and started to get uncomfortable in my seat or because the storyline gets even more downbeat. I wasn’t quite satisfied with the ending either, when Gaylord, a gambler and drinker, comes back 20 years after having abandoned his wife and daughter and is welcomed with open arms.  Chris Peluso plays this very weak man effectively and I noticed he has also played Chris in Miss Saigon, another somewhat weak male character.  He does it very well!

Overall I enjoyed Showboat.  The production is directed well by Daniel Evans and has a lot of energy with a simple but great set.  I’ve given it 4* not 5* because I wasn’t buzzing as I came out, which is a reflection on the show itself rather than the production.

Date of visit: Wednesday 10th August 2016

Stars: 4*

Follow me on Twitter/Instagram: @TheatreGremlin

Leave a comment